Continuing On For One Final Year at SFUAD

BorstAtSFUADSadly, Santa Fe University of Art and Design (SFUAD) has announced its closure in 2018. With the academic year having recently concluded, I’ve been asked to stay on as a full-time professor in The Film School (where I’ve been teaching since 2009) for one final year — to ensure that seniors finish their BFA degree program.

I’m tremendously proud of the initiatives we launched and cultivated during my time at SFUAD: Outdoor Vision Fest® (OVF) and Shoot the Stars!®. OVF, of course, spun off into an astonishing number of directions, and had a real, long-lasting impact in Santa Fe and beyond.

The venerable trade publication Variety named our department one of the “[film] schools on the move;” undergraduates and alumni found great success on the film festival circuit; and many alumni embarked on media-related careers that I hope will blossom further in the years ahead. While we could never quite crack the trades’ “Top 25” film school lists, I believe we were very competitive with the departments and schools in the latter half of those rankings.

Additionally, the colleagues I’ve worked with at the University have been incredible creative professionals, and I count myself lucky to have worked side-by-side with them.

A new professional chapter clearly lies ahead for me in 2018, but through the summer of 2017, I’ll be hunkered down and developing a new feature film screenplay (with two other feature film scripts currently making the funding rounds and attaching talent).

Then it’s back to academia for a “last stand” at SFUAD this Fall…

